APC Convention: Over sixty persons purchase forms

By Aanya Igomu


Over sixty people have purchased forms to contest for various executive positions at the forthcoming elective national convention of Nigeria’s governing party, the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The outgoing secretary of the convention planning committee, Senator Benjamin Uwajumogu stated this at the Convention Secretariat in Abuja when he handed over to the new secretary Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba.

He said so far, the committee has kept to its plans get everything set before the date of the Convention which is scheduled for June 23, 2018.

“As at today, more than sixty people have bought forms for the positions, sale of forms is ongoing, we are keeping to the timetable, the schedule that we addressed you people on the last time we had a meeting. Everything is ongoing, my departure will not affect .

“I believe that Senator Ndoma-Egba with all the experience he has will bring in more verve to this convention in June 23,he said.

Senator Uwajumogu had to resign from his position as the convention planning committee secretary due to personal reasons.

Senator Ndoma-Egba who started the duties of the secretary immediately promised to continue in the good strides his predecessor started and expressed optimism that the convention will be successful.

Aspirants wishing to contest for the positions of the national offices are paying the following for the forms; National Chairman- N500,000, other NWC positions – N250,000, other offices-N100,000.

The National Offices are to be contested under the following zoning arrangements:

North Central Zone– National Vice Chairman (NC), National Publicity Secretary, National Women Leader, Deputy National Treasurer, Deputy National Welfare Secretary.

North East Zone– National Secretary, National Vice Chairman (NE), National Youth Leader, Deputy National Auditor.

North West Zone– Deputy National Chairman North, National Vice Chairman (NW), National Treasurer, National Welfare Secretary, Deputy National Organizing Secretary.

South East Zone– National Auditor, National Vice Chairman (SE), National Organizing Secretary, Deputy National Financial Secretary, Deputy National Women Leader.

South South Zone– National Chairman, National Vice Chairman (SS), Deputy National Secretary, Deputy National Legal Adviser, Deputy National Publicity Secretary.

South West Zone– Deputy National Chairman (S), National Vice Chairman (SW), National Legal Adviser, National Financial Secretary, Deputy National Youth Leader.


Lateefah Ibrahim