APC members defect to ADP in Osun state

Yinka Salaam


Nine of the 16-member state working committee of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State have resigned their membership of the party and joined the Action Democratic Party (ADP) in the state.

In a joint letter of resignation addressed to the State Chairman of APC, Mr Gboyega Famodun, the former APC Deputy State Chairman, Alhaji Azeez Adediji said the decision was taken after due consultations with their mentors and close political associates.

Addressing journalists in Osogbo, the state capital, Adesiji who led the defectors into ADC said the aggrieved members decided to leave the ruling party because of “impunity and undemocratic practices.”

He boasted that majority of APC members were moving with them into the new party.

“Among the 780 Local Government executive in the APC in Osun State, 580 are now moving with me. Also, among the 8,632 ward executives of APC in the state, 5,620 are also joining the train to our new party ADP.

The former Deputy Chairman said abandonment of party members at wards, local governments and state level made it difficult for them to remain in APC.

“We also objected the idea of Osun State being run as an outpost of another state; and the principle of fairness and even development in which the state was created has been abandoned by APC.

“With the aforementioned reasons, myself and others here present and many more of our followers at home have chosen the path of honour by resigning our membership from APC and informing the good people of the state and country at large of our decision to move en masse into the vibrant and dynamic Action Democratic Party,” he said.

Defectors received

While receiving the defectors, the State Chairman of ADP, Mr Toye Ola Akinola expressed happiness at the decision by the defectors and assured them of great benefits for their action.

Akinola said more members have indicated their interest to dump APC for his party in order to wrestle power from the ruling party in the state. 

On the other hand, the Director of Publicity, Research and Strategy of APC, Kunle Oyatomi said the party was not unaware of the defection of some of its members into ADC but said the APC could only wished them well in their political sojourn.

Oyatomi said the move could however not stop APC from winning the September 22nd governorship election in the state, saying though, the defection remains “a minus to us but that minus can be ignored,” he said.

The defected officers included Alhaji Adesiji, Assistant General Secretary, Alhaji Rasheed Bakare; State Public Relations Officer, Akinola Morakinyo; and the Assistant Treasurer, Alhaji Sikiru Karim.

Others were Alhaji Tajudeen Agbeti (Ex-officio), Prince Ademola Bamidele (State Auditor), Wole Adunola (Ex-officio) Dr. Idayat Bakare (Assistant Welfare Secretary) and Mrs Ogundare Aina Afolabi (Assistant PRO).