APGA Convention : Oye, others returned unopposed

By Tochukwu Ifejika, Awka

Dr Victor Oye, the National Chairman of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA)

Chief Victor Oye the incumbent national chairman was re-elected in the just concluded All progressive Grand alliance (AP0GA) National convention unopposed.

The Convention, held at Prof. Dora Akunyili Women Development Center Awka, Anambra State returned all the National Executive Council, NEC and The National Working Committee NWC unopposed. The delegates for the convention cut across the 36 States of the federation.

The new National Chairman and NWC were all elected by affirmation to the satisfaction of all delegates.

Oye in his acceptance speech eulogized the Chairman Board of trustees and Governor Anambra State, Chief Willie Obiano who has sustained the party till now with his good intentions.

“His Excellency Willie Obiano is God sent. If not for him, this great party would have gone extinct,” he said.

“There’s 1.3billion naira in the coffers of APGA now, this is the money realized from the sales of forms. We intend to build APGA national secretariat in Abuja. As the 3rd largest party in Nigeria, our presence should show at the centre,” he further stated.

Over 30 persons were inaugurated as Board of trustees. The APGA Presidential Candidate John Gbor, the former national secretary and APGA Governor candidate Zamfara State, Alhaji Sanni Shinkafi, Prof Chukwuma Soludo, Senator Victor Umeh, Iyom Bianca Ojukwu, Chief Emeka Ojukwu Jr, Haija Awai Funtua, Prof David Bamgboye, Senator Ifeanyi among others made the list.

The incumbent and the new BOT Chairman Chief Willie Obiano while speaking, enjoined all members to be steadfast in upholding the tenets of the Party.

“Let’s keep flying the flag and abide by the motto of our great party. The “Onye aghana Nwanne ya” mantra should be the working force propelling the wheels of our party,” he said.


Emmanuel Ukoh