Benue Assembly affirms suspension of Local Government officers

Danielle Bem-Sar, Makurdi


The Benue State House of Assembly has affirmed the suspension of the Chairmen of Ogbadibo, Gwer East and Vandeikya local government areas of the state. They are Simon Akola, Vitalis Uaah and Dennis Akura.

Affirming their suspension in a unanimous decision, the House agreed that as representatives of the people, they were not going to condone any form of misappropriation, financial impropriety, high handedness and breach of the constitution.

In a letter addressed to the Speaker of the House, the Secretary to the State Government, SSG, Professor Anthony Ijohor, SAN, said that the Attorney General of the State having concluded investigation into the allegations leveled against the suspended officers, there was reasonable cause of action to suspend them.

Addressing journalists after plenary, Speaker of the house, Mr Titus Uba, denied allegations that those suspended were the ones who refused to defect with the Governor to the PDP saying they were not the only ones who are still in APC.

The Speaker said their offences were weighty enough to warrant such punishment. He also called on other council members to desist from such acts.

The suspension is for a period of three months.