David Lyon wins Bayelsa State Gubernatorial election

Igbogi-Green Imelda, Yenagoa


David Lyon of the All Progressive Congress(APC) emerged the winner of the Bayelsa State Governorship election held on Saturday the 16th of November 2019.

Lyon defeated Senator Douye Diri of the People Democracy Party (PDP) with 352552 votes, Diri scored 143172 votes.

The results was announced at the Independent National Electoral Commission Head office in Yenagoa the state capital by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Osasare Orumwense.

Meanwhile, after declaring David Lyon the winner, Orumwense called on the various party agents to sign on the agreement form but  the PDP agent Dr. O. O. Osusu refused to sign and he gave the reasons in an interview with Journalists after the announcement of the results “the results was manipulated, I don’t believe in it”.

The collation of results came to an end with jubilation from the APC members.