D’Tigress may meet USA in WOQT


D’Tigress have been seeded in Pot C ahead of the 2020 FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments draw scheduled to hold on November 27, at the FIBA headquarters in Switzerland.

Other teams in Pot C include hosts Japan, Brazil and Great Britain. Pot A have Olympics and World Champions, the USA, Australia, Spain and Canada while teams in Pot B include; France, Serbia, China and Belgium.

Pot D have Korea, Sweden, Puerto Rico and Mozambique.

The official Draw Ceremony will take place at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, FIBA headquarters, on November 27, 2019, and will sort the 16 qualified teams into four tournaments.

The FIBA Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournaments for 2020 will be hosted in Belgium, China, France and Serbia.

The top three teams from each of these tournaments, consisting of four teams each, will qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

FIBA World Cup 2018 champions USA and hosts of the Olympic Games, Japan, will play in the qualification tournaments but will advance through to the Tokyo 2020 Women’s Olympic Basketball Tournament regardless of their results.

The Nigerian women’s team will be hoping to book a spot at the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo after missing out of the 2016 edition in Rio de Janeiro Barzil.


Jibril. O