ECOWAS, UEMOA Court of Justices pledge regional integration


The Court of Justice of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS, and that of the West African Economic and Monetary Union, UEMOA, have pledged their commitment to collaborate in enriching the decisions of both courts.

The commitment was made by both institutions, when the President of ECOWAS Court of Justice, Justice Jerome Traore received the President of the West African Economic Monetary Union, UEMOA, Court of Justice, Justice Josephine Ebah-Toure who is on a five day working visit to ECOWAS Court in Abuja, Nigeria.

The President of ECOWAS Court of Justice, Justice Traore said the cooperation was necessary as both courts were working towards achieving regional integration.

“The cooperation is necessary because both countries are working towards regional integration,” Justice Traore explained.

The UEMAO court of Justice is as matter of fact a sister institution and the visit is a working session with the ECOWAS Court of Justice in the framework of what we call the dialogue of Judges,” he said.

“That will be an opportunity for the two courts to see their differences and also to work on what they have in common between them.”

The visiting President of West African Economic and Monetary Union Court of Justice, Justice Ebah-Toure, said that both courts would be meeting regularly to enrich their decisions in the interest of the region and citizens.

“We are two sisters’ institutions; we are not opponents, and the working visit is to work on areas of cooperation, how to work towards the integration as our founding fathers and Heads of States had set to achieved,” she explained.

“So the visit is an occasion and opportunity for us to develop areas of our cooperation in order to work towards the integration, unity and the welfare of our people according to Justice Ebah-Toure.”

West African Economic and Monetary Union, UEMOA, is made up of eight countries, Benin Republic, Burkina Faso, Cote D’Ivoire, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.