Gale of cancellations hit Cross River governorship election

Eme Offiong, Calabar


11 polling units in Odukpani and 16 polling stations in Yakurr local government areas have been cancelled.

The collation officers for Odukpani and Yakurr, Dr. Emmanuel Ashiru and Dr. David Ibua disclosed that the units were affected due to snatching of ballot papers, refusal to use the card readers and violence, which led a policeman sustaining gunshot wounds in Odukpani.

There were no record of lives lost in either of the Local Government Areas.

Yakurr has a voting strength of 83,402 and 32,592 were accredited to participate in the Governorship election.

APC got 10,885 votes, 20,110 people voted for PDP and 315 persons cast votes for SDP.

Of the total 32,284 votes cast, 31,559 were valid, while 725 votes were rejected.

In Odukpani, 53,908 registered to cast votes in the Governorship election, but 21,661 were accredited to vote.

The total votes cast equalled 21,657 of which valid constituted 21,031, rejected 626.

APC scored 6,633; PDP 14, 003 and SDP 133 votes cast

The case was not different in Biased Local Government Area as 19 polling units with a strength of 9,190 registered voters scored zero votes.

According to the collation officer for the area, Dr. Bassey Eyo Bassey stated that electorate refused to allow the use of card readers in some units, while 8 units in Ere north were married by violence.

He said for areas where the election held “70,843 people registered to vote. 19, 676 were accredited with APC scoring 6,250; PDP 11,811.”

“Total votes cast is 18,916 of which 18,377 are valid and 539 rejected votes”, he added.

So far, 9 out of 18 Local Government Areas result have been presented at the collation centre for Governorship election.

These are Akpabuyo, Odukpani, Biase, Etung, Ikom, Yakurr, Abi, Calabar Municipality and Ogoja local government areas.

Still awaited are results from Calabar South, Bakassi, Obubra, Obudu, Obanliku, Yala, Akamkpa, Bekwara and Boki LGAs.

Ime Njoku