Gombe Governor constitutes committee to review tertiary institutions

By Rebecca Mu'azu, Gombe

Governor Muhammadu Yahaya

Governor Muhammadu Yahaya has constituted an 11-member committee to assess the relevance and viability of the five tertiary educational institutions in Gombe State.

The committee is mandated to cover the Gombe State University of Science and Technology, Kumo, Gombe State College of Education Billiri, Gombe State Polytechnic, Bajoga, Gombe State College of Legal and Islamic Studies Nafada, and the Gombe State School of Nursing, Dukku.

Its work is to ‘review the level of establishment of the institutions from inception to date, assess the potentials and relevance or otherwise of the institutions to the educational development.’

Other terms of reference are the assessment of the viability of the institutions and the financial status of the state, especially in view of the Local Governments’ financial autonomy and the Nigeria Financial Intelligence Unit regulations and make recommendations.

A statement from the Governor’s office said; the committee may conduct public hearings or seek and receive memoranda from the public, where necessary and may also co-opt any other person to assist in the discharge of its assignment.”

The committee has a renowned academia, Professor Buba Bajoga as Chairman. Other members are; Senetor Haruna Garba, Professor Rufa’i Ahmed Alkali, Professor Sani Abba Aliyu, Dr. Gidado Kumo, Senator Sa’idu Kumo, Professor Istifanus Williams, Professor Nabath Tanglang, Professor Nana Tanko, Dr. Japhet Koni while Barrister Robert Wabida would serve as Member/Secretary.



Mercy Chukwudiebere