Gombe Governor swears in 21 Commissioners and others

Rebecca Mu’azu, Gombe


Governor Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State has inaugurated the State Executive Council, made up of 21 Commissioners, Special Advisers and 2 Permanent Secretaries, urging them to discharge their responsibilities to the best of their abilities for the overall development of the state.

He said the inauguration had now set the machinery of Government in motion, hence the need for all of them to work together in order to deliver good governance and more democratic dividends to the people of Gombe State.

Governor Yahaya challenged them not to relent in their efforts to deliver on their mandate, because the administration came into power on a tremendous public goodwill and support, cutting across tribes, faiths and sectional divides.

He charged them to use the power, authorities and funds belonging to the Government for the benefits of the people

The Gombe State Governor said the commissioners were carefully selected with the expectation to help drive the development agenda of his administration, which was drafted after the conduct of the needs assessment study, which covered over 400 communities across the 114 wards of the state.

Governor Yahaya equally charged Special Advisers, who had been tasked with special responsibilities, that the government was counting on their expertise and wealth of experience for the development and implementation of people-oriented policies and programmes that would take the State to the next-level.

He called on the newly sworn-in Permanent Secretaries to pursue the Civil Service reform and deliver on the policies, plans and programmes of the government, because his administration holds the Civil Service in high regards.

It is no longer going to be business-as-usual. You are appointed as Permanent Secretaries because of your hard work, dedication to duty and appreciable track records, it is our hope that you will do your utmost best in order to justify the confidence reposed in you,” Governor Yahaya said.

He said the biggest task before the government was the need to work together as a team, so as to pursue their common objectives of improving the social, economic and political conditions of our people.

“We are one administration, working towards a single goal. I therefore urge all of you to treat each other as partners rather than rivals, comrades rather than competitors. It is the spirit of cooperation, collective ownership and shared responsibility that brings success in Government,” said Governor Yahaya.

The newly appointed Commissioners and Special Advisers were assigned their portfolios.

  1. Mr. Zubairu Muhammad Umar is the Attorney-General and Commissioner of Justice
  2. Ibrahim Dasuki Jalo Waziri, is the Commissioner for Local Government & Chieftaincy Affairs
  3. Dr. Aishatu Usman Maigari, is the Commissioner of Science, Technology and Innovation
  4. Muhammad Danladi Adamu, is the Commissioner for Lands and Survey
  5. Dr. Ahmed Mohammed Gana, is the Commissioner for Health
  6. Muhammad Gambo Magaji, is the Commissioner of Finance and Economic Development
  7. Usman Jafun Biri, is the Commissioner for Rural, Community Development & Cooperatives
  8. Nasiru Aliyu Mohammed, is the Commissioner of Commerce, Industry and Tourism
  9. Shehu Ibrahim Madugu, is the Commissioner of Energy and Mineral Resources
  10. Mrs. Naomi JJ Awak, is the Commissioner of Women Affairs and Social Development
  11. Julius Ishaya, is the Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development
  12. Meshack Audu Lauco, is the Commissioner of Higher Education
  13. Mela Audu Nunghe, Commissioner for Special Duties
  14. Abubakar Bappah, is the Commissioner of Works and Transport
  15. Mijinyawa Yahaya, Commissioner for Water Resources
  16. Dauda Batari Zambuk, is the Commissioner of Internal Security and Ethical Orientation
  17. Dr. Habu Dahiru, is the Commissioner of Education
  18. Dr. Hussaina Mohammed Goje, is the Commissioner of Environment & Forest Resources
  19. Mohammed Magaji Gettado, is the Commissioner of Agriculture &    Animal Husbandry
  20. Ibrahim Alhassan Kwami, is the Commissioner of Information and Culture
  21. Adamu Kupto Dishi, is the Commissioner of Housing and Urban Development.