Group seeks review of Ministerial nomination in Kwara

By Abdul Mohammed Isa, Abuja


A Group under the auspices of Edu/ Patigi Progressive Association has sought for review of the nomination of Alhaji Lai Mohammed and Senator Gbemisola Saraki as ministers in the President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet.

In a communique made available to Voice of Nigeria, the group said that the nomination of two ministers violated the principle and practice of Federal Character and participatory democracy.

“The two ministerial slots were ceded to Kwara State but none of the nominees came from Kwara North Senatorial District, rather the nominees are from Kwara Central and Kwara South Senatorial Districts that produced the current Governor and Deputy Governor respectively,” the group said.

It said that only twice was a person made a minister from Kwara North Senatorial District since the return to democratic rule in 1999.

The group said; “Hajiya Amina Ndalolo was appointed minister by former President, Olusegun Obasanjo in 1999, and Ibrahim Bio was appointed minister by Late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua. This was made possible at that time because they adhered to the principle of participatory democracy and Federal Character, whereby every part of the state was given a sense of belonging. At that time the Governors, late Mohammed Lawal and Dr. Bukola Saraki were from Ilorin in  Kwara Central Senatorial District while the their deputies, Decon Sayomi and Chief Joel Ogundeji, respectively, were from Kwara South Senatorial District.

“The event eventually turned after the 2015 general elections when Alhaji Lai Mohammed was appointed minister, even though he came from the same Senatorial District with the sitting governor, Alhaji Fatai Ahmed,” the group explained.

It said; “Kwara North Senatorial District has the largest land mass in Kwara state and second largest population after Kwara Central Senatorial District. In the 2019 general election Kwar North Senatorial District had over 32 percent total vote cast from Kwara state, with 80 percent of the votes cast given to President Muhammadu Buhari and other All Progressive Congress (APC) candidates.

“Although appointing a minister is a prerogative of the President, we believe justice, fairness and equity is what President Muhammadu Buhari stands for; and it is our believe that Mr. President will look at their nomination again.”


Mercy Chukwudiebere