House of Assembly: APC wins 16 constituencies in Kogi

Ishaq Dan-Imam /Ukamaka Okafor /Anzaku Abashi, Lokoja


The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, Kogi state, north central Nigeria has announced that the candidates of All Progressives Congress (APC) have won the House of Assembly elections conducted on March 9, 2019 in 16 constituencies.

The Head of Voters Education and Publicity, Alhaji Ahmed Bahagu Biambo announced the result at INEC office in Lokoja, the Kogi state capital.

The 16 constituencies won by the candidates of All Progressives Congress are; Ida, Anpka 1and 2, Dekina 1 and 2, Okihi, Adavi, Okene 1 and 2, Ogorimagongo, Ijumu, Kabba, Lokoja 2, Kogi Koton karfe and Ajaokuta.

In his words,”elections results in three constituencies were declared inconclusive as a result of irregularities and violence that characterized the exercise in the affected constituencies. The three constituencies are Lokoja 1, Omala and Igalamela.”

He adds that, “all the six Adhoc Staff abducted on election day in Lokoja metropolis have now been released by their captors, but only police can give further details on the suspected captors.”

However, he said the rescheduled election for Mopamuro constituencies is on-going.