INEC declares APC’s Jide Sanwo-Olu winner of Lagos Gubernatorial election

Luqmon Balogun, Lagos

e Lnagos State nGovernor-Bbajide Sanwo-Olu

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu as winner of the Gubernatorial election held on Saturday.

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in all the 20 local government areas announced  by the electoral umpire.

According to INEC, Sanwo-Olu polled 739,445 votes, while his major contender in the race, Mr. Jimi Agbaje scored 206,141 votes.

INEC’s Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor, Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, Prof. Eyitope Ogunbodede, said the APC candidate, Sanwo-Olu, having polled majority of the votes cast at the governorship poll is declared winner of the election.

As a result of the declaration, APC’s Sanwo-Olu has defeated PDP’s Agbaje by 533,304 votes margin, making it a landslide victory for the APC candidate.

However, the opposition PDP is yet to react to the outcome of the results.