Yahaya Bello wins Kogi Governorship Election

Aisha John-Mark


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kogi State, Yahaya Bello, winner of the 2019 governorship election.

Governor Bello was returned elected on Monday having scored the highest number of votes in the keenly contested poll.

The Returning Officer for the election Professor Ibrahim Umar, made the declaration at the INEC office in Lokoja, the Kogi State capital.

The APC candidate polled a total of 406,222 votes to beat his closest rival, Mr Musa Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 189,704 votes.

Professor Umar declared the winner After several hours of collating the results from 21 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.