Ivory Coast announces squad for AFCON


Ivory Coast coach Ibrahim Kamara has announced star studded 23-man squad for the Africa Cup of Nations 2019 which will be held in Egypt between the 21st of June and 19th of July.

Ivory Coast were draw in AFCON’s arguably most intriguing group along with Morocco, South Africa and Namibia who will have their own derby with the Bafana Bafana.

Kamara selected his final squad from a 28-man provisional list after their 3-1 victory over Comoros in a warm-up match on Friday.

The Elephants squad list included breakout star Nicolas Pepe, in addition to Crystal Palace winger Wilfried Zaha. Veteran 30-year-old striker Wilfried Bony, who spent last season on loan at Qatari club Al Arabi, also made the squad while also Milan midfielder Franck Kessie was named within the 23 players.

However, former Arsenal and Roma winger Gervinho was left out despite a decent season with Serie A outfit Parma.

Ivory Coast full squad:

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (TP Mazembe), Ali Badra (Free State Stars), Tape Ira (FC San Pedro)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Tottenham), Wilfried Kanon (ADO The Hague), Wonlo Coulibaly (ASEC Mimosas), Ismaël Traoré (Angers), Mamadou Bagayoko (Red Star), Cheikh Comara (Wydad Casablanca), Souleyman Bamba (Rennes)

Midfielders: Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Mainz), Geoffrey Serey Dié (Neuchâtel Xamax), Jean-Michaël Seri (Fulham), Victorian Angban (Metz), Franck Kessié (Milan) , Ibrahim Sangaré (Toulouse)

Strikers: Max-Alain Gradel (Toulouse), Nicolas Pépé (Lille), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace), Jonathan Kodjia (Aston Villa), Roger Assalé (Young Boys Bern), Maxwel Cornet (Lyon), Wilfried Bony (Without a club).