Kaduna Assembly declares defectors’ seats vacant


The Kaduna State House of Assembly on Wednesday declared vacant the seats of the two lawmakers who defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

The ex-deputy speaker of the House, Honourable John Audu – Kwaturu representing Kachia constituency and the member representing Kudan constituency, Honourable Junaidu Yakubu had defected from APC to PDP.

The duo claimed to have dumped the ruling party over what they described as ‘impunity’ in the party. The ex-speaker after defecting also tendered his resignation letter as deputy speaker of the Assembly.

While the Speaker, Aminu Shaghali said the reasons adduced by the lawmakers were not tenable since there was no crisis in the party at both the state and the national level, he said it was constitutional to declare their seats vacant.

He however called for nominations into the seat of the deputy speaker. Member representing Makera constituency, Dahiru Liman nominated Honourable Nuhu Goroh Shadalafiya representing Kagarko constituency as the new Deputy Speaker; seconded by Honourable Ahmed Mohammed representing Zaria Kewaye constituency.

Following the nomination, Shadalafiya who is the chairman, House Committee on Information was immediately sworn in as the new deputy speaker of the House.