Kogi: APC sweeps 22 assembly seats, 2 seats declared inconclusive


The Independent National Electoral Commission ( INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of 22 out of the 25 seats in the Kogi State House of Assembly.

The Director of publicity in the Lokoja office of INEC, Mr Ahmed Biambo said candidates of APC won in Bassa, Ibaji, Okehi, Adavi, Ogori-Magongo, Idah, Ijumu, Kabba/Bunu, Yagba West and Yagba East state constituencies in Saturday’s state assembly election.

According to Biambo, the APC candidates also won in Okene Constituency 1 and 2, Ankpa Constituency 1 and 2, Ajaokuta, Kogi, Olamaboro, Dekina 2, Lokoja 2 and Igalamela constituencies.

He, however, said that the state constituency election for Mopa-Muro LGA, which was earlier rescheduled for March 19.

He also declared the elections in Lokoja Constituency 1 and Omala LGA inconclusive.

Biambo said that new dates would be announced for the conduct of supplementary elections.