Kwara government tasks women on democratic process

Tunde Akanbi, Ilorin

Logo of Kwara state, North-Central Nigeria.

The Kwara State government has extolled the virtues of women folks in Nigeria with a call on them to rise to the challenges of taking the right positions in the democratic process of the country.

The State Commissioner for Information and Communication, Mohammed Sabi said this while speaking at the Inauguration of the newly elected Executive members of the Kwara State chapter of the National Association of Women Journalists, held at the NUJ Press centre, Ilorin.

Sabi lauded the roles of women Journalists in Nigeria, stressing the need for them to participate actively in the forthcoming polls.

He charged them “to ensure professionalism in the discharge of their duties by reflecting accurate representative of the events”.

The commissioner commended the newly chairman of NAWOJ in the State, describing her as a committed and dedicated woman.

In her remarks, the former National President of the Association, Mrs. Moji Makanjuola, who was represented by a onetime Chairman of NUJ in the State, Mohammed Tunde Akanbi, pledged the support of all women Journalists at the State and national level to the newly elected executive members of the Union.

The State Chairman of the Union, Umar Abdulwahab appreciated the roles women Journalists are playing in the Union.

He said that as “an offshoot of NUJ, they should discharge their duties professionally and be active in the activities of the Union”.

In a remark, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Silifat Adeyemi said the newly elected members emerged based on the agreement and understanding of all the entire members of women Journalists.

In her acceptance speech, the newly elected chairperson of the Association, Mrs. Bola Olupinla, promised to run “an inclusive administration”, saying that “the safety and wellbeing of women Journalists would be given utmost priority”.

Other elected executive members include Mrs. Nimota Olu Ajayi of Radio Kwara chapel as the Vice Chairperson, Mrs. Fatimah Rasheed as Secretary, Miss Mosunmola Ayobola as Assistant Secretary, while Kuburah Samsoodeen is the Financial Secretary and Mrs. Ramat Ismail is the new Treasurer.

The newly elected executive members were later administered the oath of office.


Sammie Idika