Lagos Assembly screens nominees for commissioners, others

Lanre Lagada-Abayomi, Lagos



Lagos House of Assembly’s eight-man ad-hoc Committee on screening has screened eleven nominees submitted by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, including three commissioners.

The committee also screened eight others nominated for the House of Assembly Service Commission and Lagos State Civil Service Commission.

The Committee’s Chairman, Hon Rotimi Abiru (Somolu II) said a total of eleven nominees were submitted by the governor to the assembly for screening and confirmation.

He said the eight other nominees included three for the state house of assembly service commission while five nominees were for state civil service commission.

At the first session on Friday, the committee screened the three commissioner nominees, including Mr Ganiyu Ayuba, Mr Olugbenga Oyerinde and Bamigbose Martins.

At the second session, the committee screened nominees for the assembly service  commission  which included Mr Akeem Bello, former member of the 8th Assembly, Mr Kabiru Lawal,  a member from 2007 – 2011 and Mr Richard Osungboye.

The committee therefore asked Bello and Lawal to take a bow and leave because they were former members of the assembly while others were grilled with questions.

At the third session, the committee screened nominees for the state civil service commission; they were Mr Babatunde Seriki, Mr Avoseh Suru, Mr Adesina Odeyemi, Mrs Olubunmi Fabanwo and Mr Kamalrudeen Olorunoje.

The committee then asked Suru and Olorunoje to take a bow and leave because they were former members of the house in the sixth assembly.

Abiru told newsmen after the screening that after the evaluation, they would report to the assembly while their confirmation would be done during plenary session.

Other members of the screening committee were,  Mr Victor Akande (Ojo I), Mr Akeem Shokunle (Oshodi-Isolo I), Mr Desmond Elliot (Surulere I) and some others.