Lagos Commissioner wins ‘Man of the Year Award’

Luqmon Balogun, Lagos

Lagos State Commissioner for Home Affairs, Dr. AbdulHakeem AbdulLateef

The Lagos State Commissioner for Home Affairs, Dr. AbdulHakeem AbdulLateef has emerged the winner of the 2018 Lagos Man of the Year (LASMAYA) Award.

AbdulLateef won the contest by polling 41,415 votes out of the 53,893 of the total valid votes cast which represent 76.85 percent.

The feat which was said to be unprecedented in the history of award was organised and collated by Centre for Policy Development and Political Studies.

Expressing gratitude
The Commissioner dedicated the Award to God, all residents of the State and his supporters Worldwide, saying “We are all winners together.”

Past results
The outcome of this year 2018 Edition is spectacular in every respect, considering the past results of the awards.

Before this year’s award, the highest number of participation was 16,181, in year 2017, which was won by Dr. Adebola Ismail Akindele with a total votes of 3, 324.

The former Deputy Governor, Mrs. Adejoke Adefulire also won the Award in 2009 with a vote of 6,325, the highest scored by individual nominee before 2018.

Voting for this year edition commenced at 7am on Monday, September 3, 2019 and closed at 11:59pm on Sunday September 9, 2018, via SMS.

Individuals who spoke at separate interviews since the release of the result have described Dr. AbdulLateef as a man of the people, who “love and respect all persons irrespective of social status, religion, age, ethnic, gender, and other attributes.”

According to Mr. Akinlade Simon, “the Commissioner has a lot of passion for peaceful coexistence among all ethnic and religious groups in Lagos. He pursues peace with zeal and determination while focusing on development and progress of ‘Lagosians’ and individual Nigerians.’’

Others also affirmed that he had won many Awards for Lagos, especially in Muslim and Christian Pilgrim operations, expressing their wish that he continues to be of exemplary conducts and strive harder in mission to achieve a better society.

The 2018 Award is the Tenth Edition of LASMAYA, which started in 2008, as there was no Award in 2010.

Sammie Idika