Nadal, Federer elected to ATP Player Council

Rafael Nadal (L) with Roger Federer (R)

Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Austrian Jurgen Melzer were elected to the ATP Player Council on Thursday.

They will join the board immediately and serve out the unexpired terms of the players they are replacing, which run through the 2020 Wimbledon competition, the ATP announced.

The new members will replace Robin Haase, Jamie Murray and Sergiy Stakhovsky, who resigned earlier this summer after a heated seven-hour meeting.

The dispute was how to fill the spot of Justin Gimelstob on the ATP Board of Directors. He stepped down from his post after pleading no contest to felony battery, a charge that was reduced to a misdemeanour by a Judge in Los Angeles.

The coach representative spot on the ATP Player Council remains open. Daniel Vallverdu also resigned over the dispute.

Other players on the ATP Player Council include the President Novak Djokovic, Kevin Anderson, the Vice President.


Chidi Nwoke.