Nigeria flags off inter-ministerial presidential inauguration committee


By Rahila Lassa Fro, Abuja

Ahead of the inauguration of Nigeria’s new administration on May 29, the government has flagged off the constitution of an Inter-ministerial presidential committee.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha who inaugurated the Committee in Abuja said that the Committee would be saddled with the responsibility of planning, organising, executing and approving programmes for the series of activities that would be undertaken.

The committee which would be chaired by the SGF has the Minister of Information & Culture, Mr Lai Mohammed, Minister of Interior, Abdulrahaman Danbazzau  and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Geofery Onyeoma as members.

Others are the Minister of the FCT, Mohammed Musa Bello, Minister of Defence, Mansur Mohammed Dan Ali, the Minister of Health, professor Isaac Adewole, the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu as well as the Minister of State Aviation, hadi Sirika, all as members.

Also, part of the committee member are the National Chairman, All Progressives Congress, Mr Adams Ishiomhole, the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, the Director General, Department State Service Yusuf Magaji Bichi, Commander, Brigade of Guards, Umar Thomas Musa, Permanent Secretary State House,  Mr Jalal Arabi, Permanent Secretary General Services Office and the Permanent Secretary Political & Economic.

According to the SGF the Terms of Reference include

“To plan, organise and execute all approved activities for the 2019 Presidential Inauguration;

ii. Co-opt any organization(s)/person(s) relevant towards the successful execution of the programme;

iii. Document for posterity, all planned activities for the Inauguration; and

iv. Carry out any other assignment as may be required towards the successful implementation of the programme,”  he noted.

Mr Mustapha also emphasised that in the course of the implementation of the assignment, several sub-committees to be headed by Ministers will be constituted.

“For inclusiveness however, other members would be drawn from, not just the MDAs, but also from the All Progress Congress (our Party), the Presidential Campaign Council, the Buhari Support Organisation as well as Women and Youth Campaign Council. “

“The mandate of these sub-committees will be clearly spelt out to reflect the purpose for which they have been constituted. Ahead of such constitution, I wish to underscore the need for collaboration and synergy amongst sub-committees while planning and executing the approved programmes”.  

The SGF said that no stone should be left unturned to ensure that the 2019 Presidential Inauguration Committee delivers on its mandate.

“It is my singular honour and privilege to inaugurate the “2019 Inter-Ministerial Presidential Inauguration Committee (PIC410-2019),” he said.

He adds that they must deploy the wealth of experience and show unwavering commitment to the exercise

Lateefah Ibrahim