Nigeria honours Democracy Heroes


The Nigerian government has honoured the presumed winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, and other heroes of the country’s democracy.

Key players of June 12 struggle were invited by the President to witness the conferment of the titles on the democracy heroes.

Among the top key players invited by President Buhari include human-activist Wole Soyinka and Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Femi Falana.

The family of M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi, alongside and Ambassador Babagana Kingibe were present at the event.

Among those invited were the national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu and former APC national Chairman, Bisi Akande were also invited.

Also on the guest list are Members of the National Executive Committee of the SDP including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993, Former Senate Presidents, Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform, Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform, and All Chairmen of the States Traditional Councils from the six South-Western States.

Some journalists who played a key role in the June 12 struggle were also invited.

they are; Bayo Onanuga, Kunle Ajibade, Nosa Igiebor, Kayode Komolafe and Senator Jonathan Zwingina.

Others are Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori, Ms. Ayo Obe and Professor Humphrey Nwosu.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors will also be at the event.

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the conferment of National Honours on three distinguished Nigerians who contributed immensely to the enthronement of democratic governance in Nigeria.

They are  former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief Agunwa Anekwe, and two former presidents of the Senate Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute.

All the three were leaders of the National Assembly in the Third Republic.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF),Mr Boss Mustapha said that the investiture of the three former legislators would take place at a later date.