Nigeria inaugurates committee on Peace Commission establishment

By Rahila Lassa from Abuja

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha

The Nigerian government has inaugurated a committee on the establishment of National Peace Commission in Abuja.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha said the essence was to recommend a suitable platform for resolving avoidable conflicts, to return the country to the path of peace and sustainable development.

“The National Executive Council at its security summit in August 2017, reviewed the security situation in the country and identified ethno-religious crisis as one of the sources of insecurity which needed to be addressed hence recommending the need to establish a National Peace Commission by the Nigerian government and Peace agencies by the State governments,”Mr Mustapha said.

He stated; ”there are myriads of security challenges that are yet to be brought to a halt which include terrorism in the North-east, armed banditry, cattle rustling and kidnapping in the North-west, farmers herdsmen crisis in the North Central secessionist agitations in the South-east, pipeline vandalism in the South-south as well as adverse activities of electricity vandals in the South-west and South-south.

”Such myriads of security issues are indications that all parts of the country are engrossed in one security challenge or the other.”

Peace builders
Members of the committee were selected based on their pedigree as sustainable peace builders.

Mr Mustapha enjoined them to carry out the assignment by the tradition of the public service and in the interest of the country.

He also tasked them on development framework for the establishment of the Commission at the Federal and state levels to articulate their functions.

The Chairman of the Committee, Dr Bakut Bakut commended government’s efforts in bringing peace and sustainable development in Nigeria.

Dr Bakut pledged to work hard and report back within the time frame of three months.

Members were drawn from the Nigeria Institute for  Peace and Conflicts Resolution, National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria, Nigeria Inter religious Council,the Office of  Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Minister of Justice, Defence Headquarters, Nigeria Police Force, Department of State Security, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, National Orientation Agency as well as the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.


Mercy Chukwudiebere