Nigeria introduces new ministries

Timothy Choji, Abuja


Nigeria has introduced five new ministries, to reinvigorate governance and boost the implementation of policies of government in the country.

President Buhari announced the introduction of the new ministries on Wednesday while reeling out portfolios for new Ministers.

He said: “I am pleased to inform you that the Federal Ministries have been further expanded to ensure effective service delivery.”

The new ministries are those of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, Humanitarian and Disaster Management and Police Affairs.

Others are ministry of Aviation, carved out of former Transportation ministry and ministry of Power, carved out of the former ministry of Power, Works and Housing.

With the creation of the new ministries, Nigeria now has a total of twenty-eight ministries, with forty-four ministers in place.