Nigeria to ratify Niamey Convention on Border cooperation before 2020 ends

By Hudu Yakubu, Abuja


The Nigerian government has pledged to sign the Niamey Convention agreement reached between Africa Union members states in 2012 on border cooperation programmes before the end of 2020.

The Director General, National Boundary Commission of Nigeria, Alhaji Adamu Adaji made the commitment in Abuja, at the end of the four days review and planning workshop on the implementation of the African Union Border Programme in the West African region.

African Union members states had entered into agreements in 2004 on border cooperation programmes aimed at addressing the common challenges affecting them.

Only five countries which include; Niger, Togo, Benin, Mali, and Burkina have so far signed the agreements since its inception.

Adaji commended the German Government for its tremendous support in the formulation and implementation of the African Union Border programmes as well as the individual support rendered to the Members states of ECOWAS in their various border management programmes.

He pledged Nigeria’s “continued support and cooperation in facilitating the resolutions agreed at the end of the four days programme.”

Also speaking, the ECOWAS Commissioner for Trade, Customs and Free Movement, Mr Tei Konzi advocated the sustainance of the successes recorded in terms of border management as a result of cooperation with the Gesellschaft Internationale Zusammenarbiel, GIZ, within the sub-region as well as the whole continent through the African Union border programmes.

Women in border management
He further reiterated “the need for the inclussion of women in border management as well as strengthening them along the border communities.”

The GIZ/ ECOWAS cluster coordinator and Head of programm on the Organisational developments,  Mr Ludwig Kirchner told “the delegates that the workshop was organised to take stock of the German support to the ECOWAS Member states on their border management during the last 10 years.”

He also said the workshop was “to plan for the next three years of interventions from 2020 through 2022 in line with their specific individual requirements and the Region’s priorities.”

Mr Kirchner traced the evolution of a long standing cooperation between the Federal Republic of Germany and the African Union and its member states in a number of areas including peace and security through the support they rendered to the African Union Border Programme, AUBP.

The representatives of the member states that attended the workshop include Benin, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo.


Mercy Chukwudiebere