Nigerian Senate gets new Principal Officers

Edwin Akwueh, Abuja


Principal Officers of the ninth Nigerian Senate have been named in accordance with the lists sent by the All Progressives Congress, APC and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

Those appointed by the governing party, the APC, are Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North), who emerged as the Senate Leader and Senator Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North) as the Deputy Senate Leader.

Others are Senator Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia North), who was named the Chief Whip and Senator Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger North) as the Deputy Chief Whip.

Also, those confirmed from the main opposition party the PDP, are Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, (Abia South) as the Senate Minority Leader.

Senators Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South) and Phillip Aduda (FCT), retained their positions as the Deputy Minority Leader and Minority Whip.

The PDP also named Senator Sahabi Yau from Zamfara North. as the Senate Deputy Minority Whip.

Letters from the APC and PDP on the choices of the new principal officers were read by the President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmed Lawan during Tuesday’s plenary.


Confidence Okwuchi