Ninth Oyo Assembly elects Speaker

Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan


The 9th Oyo State House of Assembly has elected the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and other principal officers of the Assembly.

The election was carried out during the inauguration ceremony of the 9th Assembly held at the Hallowed Chamber of the House of Assembly, Ibadan.

A thirty-two year old Member, representing Ibarapa East constituency Adebo Ogundoyin, was elected unopposed, by a unanimous voice vote of the 32 other members as the Speaker of the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly.

The new Speaker won the seat after a nomination made by Adebayo Olajide representing Ibadan North constituency and seconded by Adeola Bamidele representing Iseyin-Itesiwaju constituency.

Ogundoyin’s emergence as Speaker is favoured by a combination of factors such as party affiliation, zoning consideration and experience, being one of the four returning Lawmakers to the ninth Assembly on the platform of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Abiodun Mohammed Fadeyi representing Ona-Ara constituency emerged as the Deputy Speaker, also by a unanimous voice vote of the Assembly Members.

Other principal officers that were elected by unanimous voice vote of the Members were: Onaolapo Sanjo Adedoyin, Ogbomoso South constituency, Majority leader; Asimiyu Alarape, Atiba constituency, Minority leader; Akeem Adedibu, Chief Whip; Olasunkanmi Babalola, Deputy Majority Leader and Hon. Adebisi Yusuf, Deputy Chief Whip.

The Speaker expressed his appreciation to the people of Oyo State and the members of the House of Assembly for the trust reposed in him.

He said that the Legislature and the Executive would work hand in hand.

“The Legislative arm of the government shall work in tandem with the Executive arm in order to facilitate speedy actualization of the business of democracy to the people of Oyo State.

“We look forward to having an Assembly that is peaceful and progressive. I promise to run an open door policy where I seek the contribution, support and cooperation of honourable members in the task of making laws and good governance.

“In accepting this mantle of the leadership of his great House, my constituency has been enlarged. Indeed, I no longer represent just Ibarapa East, I now speak for each of the 32 constituencies that aggregate themselves into our dearly beloved pacesetting state of Oyo,” he said.

Dedication to Service
The Speaker declared his dedication to the service of the people, whom he said constitute the heartbeat of all the deliberations in the Hallowed Chamber.

“And with a renewed sense of service, I submit myself to the people of Oyo State and in so doing enjoin all members of this great House irrespective of party affiliation to key into our vision of a refreshed Oyo State,“ he said.

The State Governor Seyi Makinde, who was present at the ceremony said the ceremony “is pursuant to Section 105 (3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) which empowers me, as Governor, to issue a proclamation for the holding of the first session of the House of Assembly. This duty has been duly discharged.”

He congratulated all the members who have the mandate of their constituencies to constitute the 9th Assembly and the newly elected principal officers of the House.

“Unlike the executive, where the Governor and Deputy Governor are elected and appoint a cabinet, the legislature is the only arm of government that has all members duly elected by the people,” the Governor said.

The Governor recalled the pockets of crisis that marred the relationship between the Executive and the Legislature and the times when the two arms worked together and how it turned out, stating that his administration hopes to build on the existing cordiality and take things to a better level.

“We exist; the executive, legislature and judiciary, to move Oyo State forward in the right direction. I will do everything in my power to see that there is a good working relationship between the arms of government…We will respect the autonomy of the legislative arm of government and sustain the doctrine of separation of powers as enshrined in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended)” Makinde stated.

The Governor promised to assent to Bills sent in the shortest possible time, while hoping that the Legislature would deliberate on Bills sent in by the Executive in a timely manner too.

He revealed that two of the first Bills the Executive would be sponsoring are: the Oyo State Investment Promotion Agency Bill and the Oyo State Financial Crimes Commission Bill.

Other dignitaries that witnessed the ceremony were the Deputy Governor, Mr. Rauf Olaniyan, Makinde’s Chief of Staff, Chief Bisi Ilaka, the Head of Service, Mrs. Amidat Agboola, representative of the Chief Judge, traditional rulers, community leaders, religious leaders, former lawmakers, party leaders, friends and family members of the new lawmakers and members of the public.


Confidence Okwuchi