Onyekuru returns, Semiu debuts: Super Eagles list for AFCON qualifiers

Mazino Dickson


Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has included want-away striker Henry Onyekuru as part of the AFCON 2019 qualifiers against Seychelles Islands in September.

The German tactician also invited Paderborn left back Jamiu Collins, Semi Ajayi, as part of the 24-man squad that will try to revive Nigeria’s AFCON hopes following a 0-2 drubbing in their first game against South Africa in Uyo last year.

Newly signed Bordeaux forward Samuel Kalu was also included.

Team captain John Mikel Obi has declined to play due to club commitments and injury.

Winger Victor Moses had announced is international retirement last week, altough there is massive pressure for him to rescind his decision.

All other team regulars like William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Oghenekaro Etebo and Ahmed Musa were included in the list.

Leicester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho, La Coruna keeper Francis Uzoho and team deouty captain Ogenyi Onazi will also feature against the Indian ocean minnows, who were thrashed 5-1 by Libya in Tunis last year.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Jamiu Collins, Brian Idowu, Chidozie Awaziem, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo

Midfielders: John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Ogenyi Onazi, Wilfred Ndidi, Joel Obi, Kelechi Nwakali

Forwards: Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Samuel Kalu, Kelechi Iheanacho, Odion Ighalo, Henry Onyekuru, Simeon Nwankwo