Osun PDP appoints new Chairman

Yinka Salaam, Osogbo


Main opposition party in Osun State, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has elected Olasoji Adagunodo as the state chairman.

The congress which signposted a major breakthrough in the long term crisis was held on Sunday at Osogbo city stadium.

The national body of the party led by Emmanuel Agbor, who doubled as the Chairman, Electoral Committee and leaders of the party across the state witnessed the event.

Delivering his acceptance speech, Adagunodo called on the aggrieved members of the party to support him in rescuing the state from the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

“Let me therefore use this opportunity to extend a hand of friendship to our fellow contestants who also offered themselves for the service of our party in various positions. I want to assure you all that the fact that you lost in this election does not in any way mean that you are less competent to run the affairs of the party.

“We shall ensure that no member of the party suffers any form of discrimination on the basis of his or her previous affiliation during our crisis period. We shall, in word and indeed show that truly, there are no victors and there are no vanquished.

The newly appointed Chairman used the occasion to woo members of other political parties who had indicated interest in joining the PDP but had been constrained by the crisis of the last two years.

“I want to tell you that the siege is now over and our doors are wide open for you to come and join us,” he appealed.

Adagunodo stressed the Party’sreadiness to sack the ruling All Progressives Congress at the governorship election to be held on September 22, this year.

He thus appealed to the party leaders to brace up for the task of reclaiming Osun state saying “lets brace up for huddles lying ahead of us.

Adagunodo commended members of the party for conducting themselves peacefully before, during and after the ward Congress across the state.

Party chieftains at the congress include, former National Secretary, Professor Wale Ladipo, former deputy governor in the state and former Minister of State for Defense, Erelu Olusola Obada, former Minister for Youths and Sports, Senator Akinlabi Olasunkanmi, former National Deputy Chairman, Shuaib Oyedotun and a member of the House of Representatives, Hon Oluwole Oke.

Others are, former Secretary to the Osun state government, Alhaji Fatai Akinbade, Prince Ade Fadahunsi, former Chairman of the party in the state, Gani Ola-Oluwa, former speaker of the state House of Assembly, Adejare Bello, Senator Felix Ogunwale, House of Assembly members, Dipo Eluwole and Albert Adeogun, Senator Olu Alabi, Nathaniel Oke SAN, among others.

Meanwhile, the arrowhead of the PDP faction in Osun state, Dr Bayo Faforiji who parades the likes of former deputy governor of the state, Iyiola Omisore said his faction was not carried along and that his faction did not partake. He claimed the congress was one-sided.