Oyo Assembly receives commissioner nominees list

By Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan

Oyo State House of Assembly.

The Oyo State House of Assembly has acknowledged receipt of the list of names of 14 Commissioner nominees from Governor Seyi Makinde.

Presenting the list during plenary, Speaker, Adebo Ogundoyin, said the letter accompanying the list requires the lawmakers to consider and screen the nominees to enable them support the Governor in his administration.

The list has a former Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Kehinde Ayoola; a former loyalist of Ex-Governor Abiola Ajimobi, Dr Wasiu Olatunbosun; the Director General of Seyi Makinde Campaign Organisation, Bayo Lawal; lawyer son of former Assembly Speaker, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu and Mr Seun Asamu.

Other names on the list are; Mr Adeniyi Farinto, Mr Adeniyi Adebisi, Mr Muyiwa Ojekunle, Professor Oyelowo Oyewo, Mr Rahman Abdulrahim, Mrs Funmilayo Orisadeyi, Dr Bashir Bello, Professor Daudu Sangodoyin, Mr Olasunkanmi Olaleye and Mr Akintola Ojo.

Submission of curriculum vitae
Subsequently after the presentation, the Speaker directed the nominees to submit 14 copies of their curriculum vitae and credentials to the office of the Clerk of the House on or before Friday, August 2, to enable room for screening.

Ogundoyin had denied receipt of the list before plenary to douse tension and pressure of stakeholders who want to know the details of the list before presentation on the floor of the House.

Speculations were also rife that last minute adjustments and fine-tunings were made on the list as the plenary did not start until around noon, unlike in times past.

Governor Makinde’s letter, as presented by the Speaker, reads; “May I use this opportunity to bring to the notice of the Speaker and the House of my desire to submit the list of personalities who will be considered worthy of appointments as commissioners in our State. The list is herewith attached.”

The letter further says, “I therefore request for the screening and approval of the  House for the personalities to serve as commissioners. Please accept the assurance of my personal regards.”

The Speaker however added that the days of the screening for the nominees would be announced later.

Open Rearing and Grazing
Also at plenary, the Bill for the Oyo State Open Rearing and Grazing regulations, 2019 passed the first reading.

In a motion jointly presented by Jacob Bamgboye (Oriire) and Oluseyi Adisa (Afijio state constituency), the lawmakers; “urged traffic regulatory agencies including the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) and Oyo State Traffic Management Authority (OYRTMA) to ensure safe transportation through enforcement of traffic laws and application of sanctions by impounding any truck and detaining any negligent truck driver that fails to properly secure their container while driving on Oyo State roads.”

The lawmakers urged the Federal Ministry of Works and the Oyo State Ministry of Works and Transport to direct all contractors handling road construction within the State to provide or build ‘shoulders’ at either or both sides of the roads to prevent accidents that could lead to further loss of lives and property.


Mercy Chukwudiebere