Oyo House of Assembly gets new Clerk


By Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan

The Oyo State House of Assembly has got a new Clerk and Permanent Secretary, in the person of Ms. Felicia Foluke Oyediran.

She was sworn-in on Friday by the Speaker, Right Honourable Olagunju Ojo, following the retirement of Barrister Paul Ishola Bankole, as the Clerk and Permanent Secretary of the Oyo State House of Assembly, on January 19, 2019.
Ms. Oyediran was the Deputy Clerk of the House before her confirmation and swearing-in as the new Clerk.

Prior to the confirmation and swearing-in of Ms. Oyediran, the House Majority Leader, Honourable Kehinde Subair, and Minority Leader, Honourable Akeem Ige, had moved a motion on the “Need to Fill the Vacancy of the Clerk of the Oyo State House of Assembly”, to fill the vacuum created as a result of the retirement of the former Clerk.

The two legislators referred the House to Section 93 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended and Order VII, Rule 10 (1-2) of the Standing Rules of the Oyo State House of Assembly which established the importance of the Office of the Clerk in regard to the day-to-day running of the House.

The duo also reminded the House of the passage of the Oyo State House of Assembly Commission Bill into law as assented to by the state Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, which enables the Clerk of the House to emerge from among Deputy Clerks, subject to confirmation by 2/3 majority of the House of Assembly members.

While performing the swearing-in ceremony, the Speaker charged the new Clerk to use the opportunity to improve on the quality of legislative service delivery and contribute with the success recorded so far by the House in terms of law making, oversight functions and other legislative duties.

He stated that the development has raised the hope of other members of staff of the House of Assembly of attaining the position of Clerk/Permanent Secretary in their career as civil servants.

The newly sworn-in Clerk, promised to use the position to improve the working environment and to enhance good welfare of the members of staff, ensure harmony among Honourable members and facilitate speedy delivery of legislative services.

Oyediran who hails from Ogbomoso in Oyo State is the first female Clerk to be appointed in the history of the Oyo State House of Assembly.

A graduate of the University of Ibadan, Oyediran had her first degree in Geography and her second degree in Managerial Psychology, from the same institution.
She has served in various Ministries including the Governor’s Office and the Ministry of Commerce, Industry, Investment and Cooperative.

She was a Classroom Teacher at St. Anne’s School, Molete, Ibadan till 1998, when her appointment was transferred to the State House of Assembly in 1999 as a Clerk-at-Table, at the advent of democracy.


Lateefah Ibrahim