Oyo State gets Advisory Council

By Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde (left); Chairman, Oyo State Advisory Council, Senator Hosea Agboola; Chief Bolaji Ayorinde (SAN) and Mulikat Adeola-Akande, during the inauguration of the State Advisory Council held at the EXCO Chamber of the Governor's Office, Ibadan, on Friday.

The Oyo State government has inaugurated a 10-man Advisory Council as part of efforts aimed at enhancing effective governance.

The inauguration ceremony was held at the Executive Council Chamber of the Governor’s Office in Ibadan.

Governor Seyi Makinde says the Advisory Council is the first of its kind in the State and many of the council members are men and women who have occupied positions of leadership both at the state and the national levels.

“I felt it was necessary to have men and women with vast knowledge in various fields of endeavor in the affairs of the State. Let me say that the appointment of these members were never politically motivated as being insinuated,” he said.

The Council
Governor Makinde stated that the establishment of the Council aimed at ensuring that the government taps from the wealth of experience of elders and opinion moulders in the State for the success of the administration.

The Governor said; “Many organisations that are making progress have advisory boards in place. These are men and women who are behind the success of such organisations and Oyo State will not be different.”

The objective of the 10-member Advisory Council is to give expert advise to the government from time to time on the implementation of development programmes in the State.

Governor Makinde stated that; “the ten-member Advisory Council is expected to augment the knowledge and skills of the leadership of this administration to have more effective guide of the government. They are expected to be readily available when there is need for expert advise.”

The Governor urged members of the Advisory Council to be up and doing and see the task given to them as that which must be effectively executed, stressing that Oyo State is known as the Pacesetter State, hence it must be returned to her days of glory.

The Chairman of the Committee, Hosea Agboola pledged that the committee would advise the government in the right way and with the fear of God, adding that since the committee is made up of men and women who are well experienced, giving quality advice to the government would not be difficult.

The brief ceremony was attended by dignitaries, including the Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan; Deputy Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly, Abiodun Fadeyi, who represented the Speaker, Adebo Ogundoyin; Justice Moshood Abass from the State High Court; Chief of Staff to the Governor, Bisi Ilaka; and the Head of Service, Mrs. Amidat Agboola.

The 10-member Advisory Council are; Former Deputy Chief Whip in the Senate, Senator Hosea Agboola, as Chairman of the Committee; former Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Mulika Akande; a chieftain of the ruling People’s Democratic Party, PDP,  Jacob Adetoro and former Secretary to the State Government, Barrister Sarafadeen Alli.

Others are: Legal luminary, Bolaji Ayorinde (SAN); Mr. Joseph Olaitan,  former member of the House of Representatives,  Kamil Akinlabi; former Chairperson, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu; former Head of Service in the State, Samson Laoye and Professor Kolapo Hamzat.


Mercy Chukwudiebere