Oyo State Governor swears in new SSG

By Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan

The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, and the new Secretary to the State Government (SSG) Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun.

The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, has sworn-in Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun, as the first female Secretary to the State Government (SSG).

The ceremony was held at the Executive Council Chamber of the Governor’s Office, Agodi, Secretariat, Ibadan, on Monday.

The Oath of Office was administered on the new Secretary to the State Government by the acting Permanent Secretary, Mr. Oladehinde.

Governor Makinde, in his remarks, revealed that the decision to pick Mrs. Adeosun out of the very many eminently qualified personalities before him took a lot of introspection.

According to him, “There’s this usual divide between politicians and technocrats. Some people will argue that the best person for the job is a politician who understands the terrain, as they put it. Others will say the engine room of government must be manned by a technocrat who knows his or her onions.”

The Governor however stated that what is needed in the State is a focused government that delivers on its promises as expected from the SSG.

The Governor expressed confidence that, “The new SSG will propel this government to expected cruising level such that the achievements we will be rolling out within the first 100 days would more than dwarf the meagre returns some of the past governments recorded even in eight years.”

He stated clearly that Mrs. Adeosun’s appointment was not based on feminism or other undue sentiments but, “We are making a statement to our people out there: educate your wards whether boy or girl. There is no limit to the level an educated person can rise to.”

The Governor further advised children, particularly girls, to remain dedicated to their studies and shun all the limiting devices of chauvinism around them and as such, the sky would be their beginning.

The Governor also noted that with Adeosun’s appointment, coupled with the fact that the State Head of Service, the Director General Due Process Office and the Clerk of the State House of Assembly are all women, already signposts his administration as women friendly and committed to ensuring gender and religious balance in the polity.

The new Secretary to the State Government (SSG) Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun assuming office

Promise to serve

While speaking to journalists after the swearing-in ceremony, the new SSG expressed enthusiasm at being given the opportunity to serve, adding that the people of Oyo State should look forward to benefitting from the service the administration will bring to them.

Adeosun noted that, “We want to improve prosperity in our land and we want to ensure that Oyo State becomes a pacesetter for things that are good in Nigeria.”

Before her appointment as SSG, Adeosun was the Country Implementation Lead of the Shell Business Operations (SBO), Nigeria.

The new SSG was a technocrat at Shell Petroleum Development Company, (SPDC), a licensed Pharmacist and Chartered Human Resources Practitioner who obtained a degree in Pharmacy and a Master’s degree in Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Benin in 1990 and 1997 respectively.

She has had over 26 years of diverse multinational experience, which saw her hold lead roles in SmithKline Beecham (GlaxoSmithKline) and the Shell Petroleum Development Company (SPDC). She has held multiple roles with local and global remits in the organisations.

Mrs. Adeosun hails from Ile Mato, Oranyan area in Ibadan North East Local Government of Oyo State.

The new Oyo SSG is a full member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Management, (CIPM), Nigeria and a Chartered member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Development (CIPD), United Kingdom.

Governor Makinde wished Mrs. Adeosun the best in her new assignment.

The swearing-in in ceremony was attended by the Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan; the Chief of Staff, Bisi Ilaka; the Head of Service, Amidat Agboola; the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, State Chairman, Kunmi Mustapha; the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Debo Ogundoyin, represented by the Deputy Speaker and the Chairman, Oyo State Advisory committee, Hosea Ayoola, among others.


Emmanuel Ukoh