PDP wins majority seat in Abia Legislature

By Mercy Chukwudiebere, Umuahia


The People’s Democratic Party (PDP), has won 19 out of 24 seats in the Abia State House of Assembly election held on Saturday.

The Resident Electoral Commission, Mr Joseph Iloh released the results of the election on Monday in Umuahia, the state capital.

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) retained three seats while the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the remaining two.

Voice of Nigeria reports that 385 candidates from 43 political parties contested for the 24 state assembly seats in the 17 local government areas.

A break down of the results show that the PDP won in the following constituencies: Aba North, Bende South, Ikwuano, Isiala Ngwa North and Isiala Ngwa South.Others were; Obingwa East, Obingwa West, Ohafia North, Ohafia South, Osisioma North and Osisioma South.

Also won by the PDP are; Ugwunabo, Ukwa East, Ukwa West, Umuahia  North and Umuahia Central as well as Umunneochi, Umuahia East and Umuahia South.

On the other hand, APGA won in Arochukwu, Aba North and Aba South while APC won in Bende South and Isuikwato state constituencies.

Twelve members of the House are retained while 12 are new entrants.

Some of those who retained their seats were ; Mr Chikwendu Kalu (Speaker, PDP), Mr Chinedu Orji (Majority Leader, PDP) and Abraham Obah( APGA).

Mr Cosmos Ndukwe (Deputy Speaker, PDP), Mr Chibuzor Okogbuo (Minority Leader, APC), and Mr Ikedi Ezekwesili (Umunneochi, APC), lost their seats.


Lateefah Ibrahim