Poland 2019 Round-one review: Fastest goal, world record


The group stage of the Poland 2019 U-20 World Cup  may have ended, but it won’t be forgotten.

The fastest goal, the biggest win and the most goals by a player in one match – the group stage  saw nine matchdays, 36 matches and a whole host of records and memorable moments.

Sixteen teams are left.

Round One Fact Sheet

  • Norway’s 12-0 win over Honduras was the biggest victory in tournament history
  • The nine goals scored by Erling Haland are the most for a player in any one game. The previous record was held by Adailton, who notched six goals for Brazil in their 10-3 thrashing of Korea Republic in 1997.
  • Panama’s 2-1 win over Saudi Arabia in the third and final matchday in Group E secured their first ever victory at a FIFA U-20 World Cup. In their 17 previous matches at this tournament, they had managed four draws and 13 defeats (scored ten, conceded 34). The win also sent Panama through to the knockout stage.
  • New Zealand beat Honduras 5-0 for their biggest victory in tournament history, eclipsing their 5-1 win over Myanmar in 2015. Three days later, the Kiwis defeated Norway 2-0 for their first-ever win over European opposition
  • Only one team managed to get through the group phase without conceding a goal – Senegal (five goals for, 0 against)
  • Uruguay and France managed to win all three of their matches.
  • Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Tahiti, Honduras and Qatar all failed to get a point on this, the biggest of stages, and with the exception of Mexico and Saudi Arabia, they all failed to register a goal.
  • All three Poland matches at Lodz Stadium – against Colombia (0-2), Tahiti (5-0) and Senegal (0-0) – were as good as sold out, and the home fans showed themselves to be worthy hosts of the U-20 World Cup
  • Amadou Sagna scored the fastest goal in the history of the tournament to open the tournament. The Senegalese required merely 9.6 seconds into the match against Tahiti. The previous record was set by Nigeria’s Monday Odiaka back in 1985.
  • Sagna also recorded the first hat-trick at the tournament in four years.
  • With Argentina (six titles) and France (one) having made it through, two of the three former winners participating at Poland 2019 are in the running for the trophy.