President Buhari assents to 9 Bills

Edwin Akwueh, Abuja 

President Buahri signs new Minimum wage

President Muhammadu Buhari has assented to nine Bills and rejected additional 17, out of the 318 Bills passed by the immediate past 8th National Assembly.

Senior Special Assistant to Mr. President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang and his counterpart in the House of Representatives, Hon. El-Yaqub made this known on Wednesday at a joint media briefing.

According to Senator Enang, Mr. President decided not to communicate with the 9th Assembly on the rejections of those Bills because “the new Assembly cannot take any decision on those rejected Bills”.

He, however, promised to engage the leadership of the Senate and House of Representatives, on the rationale behind the rejections of those Bills.

Senator Enang said, “The current Assembly cannot take action by way of commenting or overriding any of the rejected Bills because the law forbade the lawmakers to do so”.

Rejected Bills
The 17 rejected Bills are Adeyemi Federal University of Education (Establishment) Bill, Federal University of Education Kano, Bill, Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education Bill, Federal University of Education Zaria, Bill, National Security Agencies Protection of Officers Identity Bill, Federal Capital Territory Emergency Management Agency Bill, and Environmental Managers Registration Council of Nigeria Bill.

Others are Industrial Development Income Tax Act Amendment Bill, Defence Research and Development Bureau Bill, Animal Diseases Control Bill, Good Samaritans Bill, Chattered Institute of Directors of Nigeria Bill, National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism Establishment Bill, Federal University of Wukari (Establishment) Bill, Warehouse Receipt and Other Related Matters Bill, Federal Capital Territory Health Insurance Agency Bill, Nigeria Automotive Industry Development Plant Fiscal Incentive and Guarantees Bill, Nigerian Film Commission Bill and Proceeds of Crime Bill.

Assented Bills
The nine Bills assented  to by President Buhari are Police Trust Fund Act, Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act, FCT Management Board and Health Insurance, Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defence Bill and  Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill.

The rest are National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) bill, National Agricultural Seed Council Bill, Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment), FCT Primary Healthcare Board.


Sammie Idika