SDG empowers 400 farmers in Orhionmwon community-Edo state


The Conditional Cash Transfer Programme under the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) on Monday empowered over 400 farmers with N90,000 each in Orhionmwon Local Government Area of Edo.

This is contained in a statement signed by the media aide to Orhionmwon council chairman, Roy Osariemen, and made available to newsmen in Benin.

The statement said Gov. Godwin Obaseki was represented at the event by the member representing Orhionmwon and leader of the Edo House of Assembly, Roland Asoro.

Obaseki said the farmers were selected from five wards in the local government, adding that the grant would boast agriculture in the communities.
He gave the names of the wards to include Abiokunla-1, Iyoba, Ugboko, Urhonigbe-South and Igbanke East.

The governor urged the beneficiaries to make judicious use of the funds and promised the people of more government presence.
“The conditional cash transfer Programme is therefore critical to our overall poverty eradication plan.

“For this first phase we targeted the poor and vulnerable households in five selected local government areas in the state,’’ he said.
The governor appreciated the Federal Government for its contribution towards the laudable programmes aimed at eradicating poverty in the state.

The Chairman of Orhionmwon Local Government Council, Sylvester Okoro, congratulated the beneficiaries and enjoined them to take the scheme seriously.
“I encourage you to be dedicated and committed to your chosen enterprise so as to justify the purpose for which the funds are meant,’’ he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here