Senate sets up committee to screen NCC Directors

Edwin Akwueh, Abuja

NCC headquarters, Abuja

President of the Nigerian Senate Dr. Ahmad Lawan, on Wednesday set up an ad-hoc committee to screen candidates nominated for Directors position at the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC).

Those nominated as non-executive directors are Aliyu Saidu Abubakar from North East, Professor Millionaire Abowei (South South) and Abdulazeez Mohammed Salman (North Central) as well as Engr. Iba A.S. Maska who will be serving second term as executive commissioner if confirmed by the Senate.

This followed the executive communication by President Buhari to the Senate on the request for confirmation of the nominees in accordance with Section 8(1) of the Nigerian Communications Commission, Act 2003 which was read during plenary by the Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi.

After the Leader had read the letter, President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan announced the names of the ad-hoc committee and asked them to report back within 24 hours.

Members of the seven-man committee are Senator Teslim Folarin who serves as the chairman, while othrrs are Senators James Manager, Ibrahim Oloriegbe, Oluremi Tinubu, Obinna Ogba, Barau Jibrin, and Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf.

President Buhari’s letter on the nomination of the directors was read on Tuesday by the Senate President on the floor of the upper legislative chamber in Abuja.

Also to be considered by the committee is Mr. President’s request for the confirmation of Professor Habu Galadima as the substantive Director General, National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, NIPSS, Kuru, in Jos, nohh central Nigeria.