Smart Adeyemi’s return swells APC senators to 63

The swearing in of Senator Smart Adeyemi on Wednesday, has increased to sixty three, the number of lawmakers elected on the platform of the Governing All Progressives Congress, (APC) in the Senate.
Senator Adeyemi, who served in the 5th and 6th Senate on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party, (PDP), returned to the Red Chamber having won last Saturday’s rerun election in Kogi West Senatorial District.
He scored over 82, 000 votes to beat his main rival, Senator Dino Melaye of the PDP, who polled 62, 000 votes.
Senator Melaye, who occupied the seat from June 11, 2019 when the 9th Senate took off to October 13 when Appeal Court in Abuja nullified his victory from the February 23  Elections on the strength of petitions against him by Adeyemi, eventually lost out at the rerun elections held on November 16 and 30.
However before Adeyemi’s inclusion into the membership of the 9th Senate, two out of the 64 APC Senators sworn into office in June, also lost their seats to PDP counterparts through electoral litigations
The two APC senators were Abubakar Tambuwal who lost the Sokoto South Senatorial seat to Ibrahim Abdullahi Dambaba of the PDP and Adedayo Adeyeye who lost the Ekiti South Senatorial seat to Biodun Olujimi of the PDP.
Consequently, APC which had 64 senators in it’s fold before the outcome of the various electoral litigations, now has 63 while PDP which started with 44 senators on June 11, 2019, now has 45 senators.
The remaining seat out of the entire 109 seats is occupied by Senator Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party, (YPP) for the Anambra South Senatorial District.