State Assembly Election: APC wins 22 of 26 seats in Osun Assembly

Segun Adegoke, Osogbo


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 22 out of the 26 seats in the March 9 State Assembly Election in Osun state.

According to official results made available to pressmen in Osogbo by the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr Olusegun Agbaje, APC won in 22 constituencies including Boripe/Boluwaduro, Ifelodun, Ila, Ifedayo, Irepodun/Orolu, Odo-otin, Olorunda, Osogbo and Atakumosa East.

Others are Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesha East, Ilesha West, Ayedaade, Ayedire and Egbedore.

APC also won in Irewole/Isokan, Iwo, Ola-Oluwa and Ejigbo state constituencies.

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) clinched the 3 constituencies of Obokun, Ede North and Ede South, while the election in Oriade state constituency was inconclusive.

A new date for the supplementary election in Oriade would be announced later.

Meanwhile, following its impressive showing at the polls, the All Progressives Congress APC has congratulated its candidates and people of the state on the victory.

The APC Director of Publicity in the state, Mr Kunle Oyatomi in a statement described the victory as well deserved and an emphatic statement by the people that they wanted good governance to continue.

“What the majority of our people have indicated is that, it makes sense to continue with what had been happening in the state since 2010. This is more so because the successor of Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, (Governor Gboyega Oyetola), was himself at the core of implementation of APC development agenda right from the beginning. And Oyetola’s first moves since he took over three months ago as Governor, have been positively symbolic of what to expect.

The Party also urged all citizens of the state to unite, put away their political differences and support the government for greater development to come to every nook and cranny of the state.

“We are consequently urging the people of the state to brace up for greater achievements, regardless of their party affiliation, and to unite in contributing their share of responsibility in making Osun one of the best states in Nigeria”.