State Council: Kaduna Governor nominates 11 Commissioners

Asma'u Halilu, Kaduna


Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai has sent the names of eleven nominees for appointment as Commissioners to the Kaduna State House of Assembly.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by Samuel Aruwan, the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Media and Publicity in Kaduna.

It read that the Governor will subsequently forward three more nominees to make up for the fourteen commissioners that will constitute the Kaduna State Executive Council.

The statement assured that, upon confirmation by the legislature, the Commissioners will run the fourteen ministries created in the June 2019 Executive Order.

All the eleven nominees served in various capacities in the first-term of the government, saying, picking insiders is a deliberate decision to enable the nominees hit the ground running and assist the government to achieve its targets for the second term.

The Governor’s spokesman, Samuel Aruwan was nominated to run the Ministry of Internal Security and Home Affairs.

The other ten nominees proposed portfolios are as follows:

Ja’afaru Ibrahim Sani Ministry of Local Government Affairs

Idris Samaila Nyam Ministry of Business, Innovation & Technology

Shehu Usman Makarfi Ministry of Education

Ibrahim Garba Hussaini Ministry of Environment & Natural Resources

Kabir Muhammad Mato Ministry of Sports Development

Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa  Ministry of Public Works & Infrastructure

Fausat Adebola Ibikunle Ministry of Housing & Urban Development

Mohammed Bashir Saidu Ministry of Finance

Hafsat Mohammed Baba  Ministry of Human Services & Social Development

Aisha Dikko Ministry of Justice

Nominations for the Commissioners of Agriculture, Health and Planning as well as Budget will be forwarded in the second batch.