The 2019 gubernatorial elections at a glance – Data visualisation

Mazino Dickson, Titi Bamigboye and Chukwuemeka Nwoga, Abuja


The 2019 gubernatorial polls held across twenty-nine states of the federation on March 9 produced some interesting outcomes.

There were no elections in seven (7) states because they were off-season.

They include; Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Ondo, Osun and Kogi states.

The governing All Progressive Congress (APC) won in thirteen (13) states; while the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) took nine (9) states.

Here is a breakdown of how each state voted:


The ruling APC re-asserted its firm grip over North-Eastern Nigeria with a a clean sweep of Borno, Yobe and Gombe.

The victory of the APC in Gombe is significant, because the state has always been ruled by the opposition PDP since Nigeria returned to democracy on May 29, 1999.

The PDP kept its dominance in Taraba with a routing electoral win.

However, Bauchi and Adamawa hang in the balance, as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the gubernatorial polls inconclusive; a new date will be announced.

Consequently, the APC won in three states, while the PDP won in one state.



Buoyed by their very impressive outing in the presidential elections a fortnight ago, the APC was expected to keep hold of the zone.

Indeed, the party had a commanding performance in Zamfara, Kaduna, Kebbi and Jigawa states.

But it was a different outing in Kano and Sokoto states, as the elections were declared inconclusive.



While the APC won in Nasarawa, Niger and Kwara; the elections in Benue and Plateau were inconclusive.

Kogi state was off election season, while the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) does not conduct gubernatorial elections.



In South-Western Nigeria, the APC maintained its stranglehold on key states of Lagos and Ogun states, while the PDP captured Oyo state.

On a geo-political basis, the APC controls five states, while the PDP now has one state; meaning the ruling party keeps its hold on this zone.

Ondo and Osun states were off-season



The PDP now controls five states in South-Eastern Nigeria having swept the gubernatorial polls in Abia, Ebonyi, Enugu and now Imo states.

Anambra remains under the sway of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).



The PDP simply reaffirmed the South-South as its sphere of control with a crushing win in Akwa Ibom, Delta, and Cross-River states.

Bayelsa and Edo did not hold elections as they are off-season.

However, INEC suspended the Rivers election till further notice following violence, massive irregularities and interference across polling stations in the state.




Comments are closed.