The FIFA Best finalists unveiled in Milan


The world discovered who will stand on the podium at The Best FIFA Football Awards on 23 September after the final list of hopefuls were unveiled at the iconic San Siro stadium in Milan. The Best FIFA Women’s Player trophy will have a totally new name on the honour’s board this year, with a trio of fresh finalists named, while two-time The Best FIFA Men’s Player Cristiano Ronaldo will be hoping to reclaim his crown from last year’s winner Luka Modric.

In a year punctuated by the extraordinary festival of women’s football that was the FIFA Women’s World Cup™, the top three for each of The Best Women’s Player and Coach awards are unsurprisingly stars who shone brightest in France 2019.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2019 finalists
The winners USA can count Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan and coach Jill Ellis among the nominees, semi-finalists England have two names in the running themselves: Lucy Bronze and coach Phil Neville, while The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017 – and France 2019 finalist – Sarina Wiegman rounds out the star-studded sextet.

The English Premier League dominates the top men’s awards, with four of the six finalists for The Best Men’s Player and Coach awards plying their trade in England.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2019 finalists
UEFA Champions League winner Virgil van Dijk is joined by his own coach at Liverpool Jurgen Klopp, as well as Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola and Tottenham Hotspur coach Mauricio Pochettino in the top six. Two-time The Best FIFA Men’s Player Cristiano Ronaldo returns to the top three for the fourth year running, while Lionel Messi – named the world’s top player five times – is once more named among the top trio.

In another landmark moment for the women’s game, the finalists for the inaugural The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper have been announced, as well as the trio in the running for The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper – the first two editions of which were handed out in 2017 and 2018.

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper 2019 finalists
Three top shot-stoppers who made their mark in France 2019 have been recognised, namely: Hedvig Lindahl, Christiane Endler and adidas Golden Glove winner Sari van Veenendaal. Brazilian duo Alisson and Ederson are joined in the running for the men’s edition by Marc-André ter Stegen.

Fans from around the world can now vote for their favourite for the Fan Award. The three finalists: Silvia Grecco from Brazil, the Netherlands fans out in France 2019 and Justo Sanchez from Uruguay are all unique and inspiring in their own way. Learn about their stories, sign up for the Club and make your choice now.

That vote begins after hundreds of thousands of fans have already had their say and whittled the ten FIFA Puskás Award nominees down to a remarkable top three. The stunning goals by Lionel Messi, Juan Fernando Quintero and Daniel Zsori will now be put to a panel of FIFA Legends, who will determine the winner of the 2019 Puskás Award.

All eight of these awards, as well as the inaugural FIFA/FIFPro Women’s World11, the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11 and the FIFA Fair Play Award, will be handed out on 23 September in front of football’s biggest names amongst the salubrious surroundings of the Teatro all Scala in Milan.

The Best FIFA Football Awards finalists in full
The Best FIFA Men’s Player
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player
Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City
Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool
Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team
Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team
Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

FIFA Fan Award
Silvia Grecco (BRA)
Netherlands Fans at the Women’s World Cup (NED)
Justo Sánchez (URU)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
Alisson (BRA) – Liverpool
Ederson (BRA) – Manchester City
Marc-André ter Stegen (GER) – FC Barcelona

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
Christiane Endler (CHI) – Paris Saint-Germain
Hedvig Lindahl (SWE) – Chelsea / Wolfsburg
Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

FIFA Puskás Award
Lionel Messi (ARG) – Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)
Juan Fernando Quintero (COL) – River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)
Dániel Zsóri (HUN) – Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

What happens next?
The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coach, Player awards:
The winner of the voting by national team captains, coaches, fans and media will be announced during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Teatro all Scala in Milan on Monday 23 September.

FIFA Fan Award:
Voting is now open, and will close during the ceremony on 23 September.

FIFA Puskás Award:
The three finalists selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the award winner.

The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Goalkeeper awards:
The winner of the award will be selected by a panel of experts chosen by FIFA, comprised of former goalkeepers and strikers.

FIFA/FIFPro Men’s and Women’s World11:
The 55 nominees for each award will be announced by FIFPro this week: for the men’s edition on Wednesday 4 September and for the historic first edition of the FIFA/FIFPro Women’s World11 on Thursday 5 September.