English Premier League returns

Chidi Nwoke

English Premier League trophy

The start of the English Premier League’s 2019/20 season will take place on Friday 9 August 2019, after 89 long days. Who will lift the trophy at the end of the season?

The Premier League hype train is building once again with clubs back in pre-season ahead of the big kick-off. The 2019/20 campaign is guaranteed to bring drama once again with Manchester City, and Liverpool expected to compete for the title.

Last season’s runners up Liverpool will kick off the campaign at home to newly promoted Norwich City, while champions Manchester City open start their campaign with a trip to West Ham.

Manchester United will meet Chelsea at Old Trafford, in the headline fixture on the opening weekend ​of the 2019/20 Premier League season.

2019/2020 EPL team logos

Champions League finalists Tottenham will hope to apply more pressure on the top two, while London rivals Arsenal and Chelsea will continue to battle for European places.

Norwich and Sheffield United will join the party for 2019/20, while Aston Villa secured promotion via the play-offs after breaking Derby hearts.

Spurs welcome another newly promoted club, Aston Villa, on the opening weekend, with Arsenal travelling to Newcastle and an intriguing clash between Leicester and Wolves.

The opening weeks of the EPL season always ensures to get fans off their feet.

Opening weekend full fixtures

09/08/2019 – 20:00 – Liverpool v Norwich City

10/08/2019 – 15:00 – A.F.C. Bournemouth v Sheffield United

10/08/2019 – 15:00 – Burnley v Southampton

10/08/2019 – 15:00 – Crystal Palace v Everton

10/08/2019 – 15:00 – Leicester City v Wolverhampton

10/08/2019 – 15:00 – Watford v Brighton

10/08/2019 – 17:30 – Tottenham Hotspur v Aston Villa

10/08/2019 – 12:30 – West Ham United v Manchester City

11/08/2019 – 14:00 – Newcastle United v ​Arsenal

11/08/2019 – 16:30 – Manchester United v Chelsea