Vice President leads Campaign for Ekiti Governorship aspirant

Yinka Salaam, Osogbo


Nigeria’s Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, 12 serving governors and eminent party Chieftains of the All Progressives Congress have enjoined the people of Ekiti State to cast their votes for the party candidate, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, in the upcoming July 14 governorship election.

They all urged the people of the Western state of Ekiti to support their candidate at the official flag off of campaign of the immediate past Minister of Mines in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital on Tuesday.

Osinbajo said Ekiti people would benefit a lot from the APC both at the federal and state levels if they elect Fayemi as their governor at the poll.

Tested politician
He described Fayemi as a tested politician and administrator who had enough experience to manage the resources of the state and provide quality leadership.

“God has chosen this lucky man to bring good governance and purposeful leadership to the people of Ekiti State.

“On July 14, don’t look elsewhere but look forward to voting APC. APC is a party that means well for the people, APC is a party of progressive people,” Osinbajo said.

While urging Ekiti residents to elect Fayemi, the APC National Leader, Senator Bola Tinubu told the people of Ekiti not to remain a lone ranger in the Southwest but to join the progressives fold.

“This is the only place where change is necessary now. We took Fayemi to the federal level, he was Minister where Osinbajo was Vice President but Ekiti is now a lone ranger.

“This is your son, we have taught him, he is a friend of the President. We are going to do the election together

“He now understands the game. I want you to vote him 100 percent on July 14.”

The APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie Oyegun who presented the party’s flag to Fayemi, also formally received the former Minister of State for Works and former People’s Democratic Party (PDP) national spokesman, Prince Dayo Adeyeye into the APC.

Also speaking, former Edo State Governor, Adams Oshiomole stated that Ekiti was the most educated state in Nigeria with the highest pupil enrollment in schools.

“On July 14, it is one man, one vote, one woman, one vote. Your votes will count this time. Nobody will tamper with it,” he said.

In the same vein, the Chairman of the National Campaign Council and Kebbi State Governor Bagudu said Nigeria had been in safe hands since 2015 when President Buhari and Osinbajo took over, and urged Ekiti to join the moving train in the coming election.

“If Ogun, Ondo, Lagos, Oyo, Osun, Plateau and Kebbi could embrace APC, Ekiti must do same, because we represent progress.

Governors Amosun, Aregbesola, Bello, Ajimobi, Ahmed, Akeredolu and Bagudu also urged the electorates to vote Fayemi to bring unprecedented progress to the state.

Fayemi’s response
While addressing supporters, Fayemi said he was humbled by the gesture of solidarity from the party leaders and appealed to Ekiti voters to sweep away a “useless government.”

He promised to restore all the programmes initiated by his administration which were abrogated by the present government.

“The Youth in Agriculture, Youth Volunteer Scheme, the Ekiti State Traffic Management Agency, Social Security Scheme of the Aged, both in Commercial Agriculture, Local Council Development Ares, Peace Corps and other landmark programmes will come back.

“Governor Ayo Fayose said he wanted continuity, I know Ekiti won’t subscribe to continuity of poverty, wanton neglect, fraud and pauperisation of our people in the name of governance.

“We will reclaim our land, its day decency, discipline, decorum and good essence of democracy will return to our land,” Fayose said.

Array of dignitaries
Vice President Osinbajo was accompanied by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha; APC National Chairman, John Odigie Oyegun; APC National Leader, Bola Tinubu, National Secretary, Mala Mai Buni and other members of the National Working Committee (NWC).

Governors who appeared at the rally included Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, AbdulAzeez Yari (Zamfara), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Simon Lalong (Plateau), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (Ondo) and Godwin Obaseki (Edo).

Serving ministers who attended the rally to show solidarity with Fayemi were Mansur Dan Ali (Defence), Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Mines and Steel Development) and Lai Mohammed (Information and Culture).

Also at the rally were former APC Interim National Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande; former Ekiti State Governors, Chief Adeniyi Adebayo and Chief Segun Oni amongst others.


Lateefah Ibrahim