Victor Osimhen wins 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe award

Chidi Nwoke, Abuja.

Victor Osimhen wins 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe award

Nigerian international and Lille forward Victor Osimhen capped an impressive debut with Lille by winning the 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe annual award in France that recognises the best African player in Ligue 1.

Popular French media outlets RFI and France 24 named 21-year-old Osimhen as the winner of the prestigious award. The annual award is organised in memory of Cameroonian great and former Olympique Lyonnais midfield maestro Marc Vivien Foe.

According to RFI: “Victor Osimhen wins the 2020 edition of the Marc-Vivian Prize @RFI and @France 24. Portrait of the young Nigerian striker whose motto is ‘The more you score, the easier your life is.’”

France24: “Prix ​​Marc-Vivien Foé 2020: Nigerian Victor Osimhen voted African player of the year in Ligue 1”

Osimhen emerged winner from a list of 11 footballers who were shortlisted for the awards. He gathered 284 points way ahead runner-up Algerian Islam Slimani of Monaco, who registered 95 points.

The Super Eagles striker is the second consecutive Lille player to win the Award, after Arsenal’s Nicolas Pepe won the award while playing for the french side last year.

Osimhen becomes the second Nigerian to win annual award after Former Super Eagles goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama won the award in 2014.

Osimhen saw off competition from compatriot Moses Simon (Nantes), Saint-Etienne’s Denis Bouanga, Montpellier’s Andy Delort, Monaco’s Islam Sliming, and Rennes’ trio of Mbaye Niang, Hamari Traore and Edouard Mendy.

The Nigerian had a dream debut campaign in France scoring 18 goals in 38 games across all competitions, 13 of them in 27 French Ligue 1 games.

According to the jury, the votes produced the following results:

  1. Victor OSIMHEN (Nigeria/Lille LOSC) – 284 points
  2. Islam SLIMANI (Algérie/AS Monaco) – 95 points
  3. Yunis ABDELHAMID (Maroc/Stade de Reims) – 89 points
  4. Habib DIALLO (Senegal/FC Metz) – 52 points
  5. M’Baye NIANG (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 43 points
  6. Idrissa GUEYE (Senegal/Paris SG) – 37 points
  7. 7. Hamari TRAORÉ (Mali/Stade Rennais) – 37 points
  8. Denis BOUANGA (Gabon/AS Saint-Etienne) – 27 points
  9. Edouard MENDY (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 24 points
  10. Andy DELORT (Algeria/Montpellier HSC) – 13 points
  11. Moses SIMON (Nigeria/FC Nantes) – 10 points

Marc Vivien Foe is considered as one of the best midfielders that ever played in the French Ligue 1 championship. He died at the Stade de France, while playing for Cameroon, during the 2003 FIFA Confederations Cup semi-final game against Colombia.

Previous winners of Marc-Vivien Foe Award and Year of success.

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Bordeaux / Morocco)
2010: Yao Gervinho (Lille / Côte d’Ivoire)
2011:Yao Gervinho (Lille / Côte d’Ivoire)
2012: Younès Belhanda (Montpellier / Morocco)
2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint-Etienne / Gabon)
2014: Vincent Enyeama (Lille / Nigeria)
2015: André Ayew (Marseille / Ghana)
2016: Sofiane Boufal (Lille / Morocco)
2017: Jean Mickaël Seri (Nice / Ivory Coast)
2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Angers SCO / Cameroon)
2019: Nicolas Pepe (Lille / Ivory Coast)
2020: Victor Osimhen (Lille/Nigeria)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.