World’s top 10 Commit to play ATP Cup 2020


The top 18 countries in the ATP Cup Standings and Australia, as host wildcard, have been announced as qualifiers for the inaugural ATP Cup, to be held from 3 to 12 January 2020 in BrisbanePerth and Sydney.

Every member of the Top 10 in the ATP Rankings — including Serbia’s Novak DjokovicSpain’s Rafael Nadal and Switzerland’s Roger Federer — and 27 of the Top 30 have committed to play at the ATP Cup, which will serve as the spectacular launch of the global tennis season. In addition, Andy Murray qualifies Great Britain by virtue of his Protected Ranking of 2.

 Tennis Australia CEO Craig Tiley said: “This is an incredibly exciting time for tennis fans. We are thrilled with the amazing support the ATP Cup has attracted from the players. This event will globally launch the tennis season in a manner that will enthral fans and entice the next generation to our sport. January can’t come quick enough.”

ATP Executive Chairman and President Chris Kermode said: “We’re delighted to see such a star-studded player field lining up for the inaugural ATP Cup. Our belief was that week one in the calendar, together with Tennis Australia, would work best for player scheduling, and today’s announcement is a confirmation of that. Having the top players competing in this new global event is critical, and the ATP Cup looks set to kick off the ATP Tour season in a big way in 2020.”

The top two players for each country are committed to play, subject to change based on the ATP Rankings at the second entry deadline on 13 November, when remaining team members (up to an additional three players) will gain acceptance. Additionally, on that date, a further five countries will qualify to compete at the 24-country ATP Cup based on the ranking of their No.1 singles player.

The group stages of the AUD $22 million ATP Cup will be hosted in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney over six days. Eight countries will then play at the ATP Cup Final Eight in Sydney that will feature quarterfinals over two days, semifinals and a final. Each tie will comprise of two singles and one doubles match.

Countries will be drawn into one of six groups on Monday 16 September when the Official Draw is conducted at the Sydney Opera House with additional events in host cities Brisbane and Perth to mark the occasion.


The ATP Cup Draw TV Show will reveal the full schedule for the first six days of group play at 5:00pm AEST and a panel of tennis analysts will discuss the day’s events. Fans can tune in via ATP Cup social media.


All tickets including hospitality, packages and single session tickets will go on sale for each host city on Wednesday 18 September. Adult tickets will start at $30 and children’s tickets at $5.


About the ATP Cup

The ATP Cup is an annual 24-country team competition featuring AUD $22 million prize money and a maximum of 750 singles and 250 doubles ATP Rankings points. The ATP Cup is staged in partnership with Tennis Australia. The ATP Cup will begin the new season and in 2020 will run from 3 to 12 January. The tournament will be played in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney. The eight surviving teams will advance to the Finals in Sydney.


The ATP Cup is supported by official host city partners, Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane Marketing, Tourism WA and Destination NSW.


Country Top 2-Ranked Players (as of 13 September 2019)
1) Serbia Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic
2) Spain Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut
3) Switzerland Roger Federer, Henri Laaksonen
4) Russia Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov
5) Austria Dominic Thiem, Dennis Novak
6) Germany Alexander Zverev, Jan-Lennard Struff
7) Greece Stefanos Tsitsipas, Michail Pervolarakis
8) Japan Kei Nishikori, Yoshihito Nishioka
9) Italy Fabio Fognini, Matteo Berrettini
10) France Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire
11) Belgium David Goffin, Steve Darcis
12) Croatia Borna Coric, Marin Cilic
13) Argentina Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella
14) Georgia Nikoloz Basilashvili, Aleksandre Metreveli
15) South Africa Kevin Anderson, Lloyd Harris
16) United States John Isner, Taylor Fritz
17) Canada Felix Auger-Aliassime, Milos Raonic
18) Great Britain Andy Murray, Kyle Edmund
WC) Australia Nick Kyrgios, Alex de Minaur