Zimbabwe name final squad for AFCON


Egypt’s group opponents Zimbabwe have named their 23-man final squad for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations which will take place in Egypt this month.

The Warriors were drawn in group A alongside hosts Egypt, DR Congo, and Uganda. Their opening game will be against Egypt on June 21, before facing Uganda and DR Congo on June 26 and June 30 respectively.

Zimbabwe coach Sunday Chidzambwa announced his provisional squad for the top flight African tournament in May with 34 players included.

Kaizer Chiefs stars Khama Billiat and Teenage Hadebe lead the list for Zimbabwe, while also Anderlecht’s Knowledge Musona and Nyasha Mushekwi of Dalian Yifang made the cut.

Zimbabwe final squad:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka) and Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs)

Defenders: Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tendai Darikwa (Nottingham Forest), Jimmy Dzingai (Power Dynamos) and Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids)

Midfielders: Talent Chawapihwa (Amazulu), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates) and Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans)

Strikers: Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows) and Evans Rusike (SuperSport United).